• Payne County was opened to settlement in the Oklahoma land run of 1889. The land run took place April 22, 1889; overnight businesses sprang up, schools and churches were built, and farmers began planting crops. In December of 1890, the state’s land grant university, Oklahoma A&M, was established in Stillwater. Oklahoma A&M is now Oklahoma State University, which is the county’s largest industry. The county seat is Stillwater. Payne county encompasses the cities of Cushing, Glencoe, Perkins, Ripley, Stillwater and Yale, as well as fourteen townships.
  • Population as of 2011: 77988
  • Land area: Approximately 697 square miles